In the Quiet


There is a part of me that longs for quiet. Real quiet. That every sound might fade away until just my breath and my heartbeat remain.

But quiet applies to more than just sound. I long for the quiet of peaceful situations. That the chaos of life around me would stop, if for only a moment, until that all elusive centering peace can be obtained, and enjoyed. I want to submerge myself in it. I want to float on the gentle waves of Presense. To close my eyes, and not a single distraction pull me away from this quiet space.

With quietness of sound and quietness of space, I can then move into quietness of mind. I can S L O W D O W N the thoughts that have tossed and tumbled, around and around in my mind like a waterspout. Persistent. Relentless. I want to let go of the feelings they bring. I want to scream them out into the dark until they too are enveloped by quiet. I want each passing thought, both mundane and damaging, to melt like wax in the presense of flame. To drip, slowly and steadily, away until I am left only with the delicate smoke of my prayers. To feel real quiet, to live real quiet. To bring to a halt the wildly spinning top that reflects my torturing inner voice, and simply REST.

Please… please hear my quiet prayer.

13 Responses to In the Quiet

  1. suzicate says:

    I long for this place, too. Occasionally I find it though it does not last nearly long enough before I am pulled back. This is most eloquently penned. thank you for this post today.

    • Kristy says:

      Hmmm…..my meditation took me to be in silence today, and to write about it on my blog. Today I will be in silence, beauty, and near/or in water. Your poetic post confirms the messages I received in meditation. Thank you!

  2. That was stunningly beautiful! That is the peace that I believe every spiritual seeker is looking for.

  3. Janet Brockway says:

    “Be still and know that I am God”

  4. boatacrosstheriver says:

    Your words leave me feeling more peaceful!

  5. souldipper says:

    This morning, on my walk, I stopped to embrace my Canadian Maple. As the sun sparkled from behind a canopy of giant leaves, I asked for quietness and a solitude that would bring serenity and opportunities to know love. Sounds as though it’s a prayer resonating throughout the Universe.

  6. Stunning, poetic and profound Christina. I hope you find your silence somewhere, somehow.

  7. Mark Andrew says:

    I too crave moments of silence, even hours of silence. When I was growing up in a small village of 1000 people in Ontario on the shores of Lake Erie, these moments were fairly easy to come by. I’d just walk along the beach or go for a walk on our village streets with the only sound being the crickets chirping. Now that I live in a city of 200, 000, it’s harder to have that open, quiet space with the buzz of the Blackberry and the racket on the transit bus. But it can be done. I for one need to have more discipline to spend daily time in meditation and prayer. It seems very counterproductive at times, but in truth I need to center myself before I proceed with my day….Blessings to you today.

    • Christina Cronk says:

      Wow, I have to tell you Mark how incredibly honoured I am to have you comment on my blog. Your Notes on the Journey was the very first blog I’ve ever subscribed to. You have a way of penning exactly what my soul needs to hear and posting it at the precise moment I need to hear it. Nobody else has ever affected me this way with their writing. From thousands of miles away, I believe we are kindred spirits of a sort. I hold you in great respect. Thank you 🙂

  8. Becca Givens says:

    Oh, Christina … have you been reading my mind, my energy, the yearnings of my soul and spirit? I join you in this request for quiet prayer. Peaceful sounds of nature’s symphony… ushering in the nourishing and nurturing of centered silence! Thank you for sharing!

  9. This could be this blog’s greatest blog I have ever seen

  10. All ’round incredibly written blog..

Leave a comment